What to do?

Posted: December 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Everyone remember that question back when you were a kid? Some of us even in our 20s still ask ourselves, because, how do you figure something out like that?
Something you want to do for the rest of your life, and will back you up financially AND satisfy you mentally. Big move.

When I was 9 of course, I knew everything, so I said, I’m gonna be a barber! Poor dad was subjected to much unwarranted hair-gelling and pink-hair-clips-in-hair scenarios, and I’d been caught snipping people’s hair off in their sleep more than once.

But then obviously I grew up and figured I couldn’t be a barber all my life. So I went through a long phase of fluctuating ideas… Rocket scientist? Biochemist? Cardiac surgeon? Pilot? Advertising agent? Radio jock? The list was endless.

Finally I’ve settled for journalism temporarily and architecture soon, to balance both financial and artistic desires. But still, I can’t say for sure that I’ve found it. What I want to do with my life. I love my job and my friends and the prospect of my future, but I know there’s something more out there…

I want to travel the world! Go bungee jumping! Visit the slums of Bombay, the dunes of Egypt, the malls of KL, the beaches of Maldives, the tribal world of Africa, run through some huge empty field in the middle of nowhere, hurtle through a wild colourful city, my foot on the accelerator!
Some day. I’m going to. So all these plans, an office job, college, the once-a-year massive trips out of town, it’s all temporary really. It’s an answer to those people who go ‘What are you planning to do with your life?’ and expect nothing but a big-shot certificate-qualification answer. A placid filling between the gap of today and when my life becomes the stuff of my dreams.

Interestingly though, while getting ready for my final driving test next week, I was told that, lest you’re failed for carelessly forgetting to turn on a signal or the engine stalls, pay 2500 bucks to the examiner ‘to help him with his decision to pass you’.
Lemme seeee… he works from 9 to 5, meaning about 5 classes a day, meaning a possible 2000 x 5 a day, PLUS his ordinary salary = 10,000 bucks + a day? For looking cranky and scribbling into a notebook?

Hmmm.. where’s the College for Driving Test Examiners at? 😉

Comments
  1. Sigma says:

    Me figures that if you do something you enjoy doing, you’ll never have to work a day in your life – and in that sense I have been fortunate, loving with a passion what I do. Early on I kind of figured that I had two options, either live to work or work to live,the choice became simple then. My wants are few, so I don’t find myself in a never ending chase for the material. Life is good when you cut your cloth according to what you have.

Leave a Reply

