Everybody’s Changing

Posted: December 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

One of my latest favourite songs is Keane’s Everybody’s Changing…

You’re aching, you’re breaking
And I can see the pain in your eyes
Says everybody’s changing, and I don’t know why

Sitting on the fourth floor and looking out the window at the concrete buildings outside, I realized, like I often do, that I’m getting older. Redundant, I know, but I still feel like the immature nine year old with big dreams swimming in her head. Just a little taller.

Everywhere I turn, I see people changing though. People are growing up, they’re adapting to responsibility and they act mature and stuff. Apart from about three people my age in total, I feel completely disconnected with all my other friends. We’re all growing old, but only just some of us are actually growing up. I’m not one of them.

I guess that’s a good thing; 18 till I die, I hope. But then, it gets unnerving sometimes, sticking out like a sore thumb while standing amidst the hustle-bustle city throng of people in suits in a hurry to get to some appointment or some meeting or some cocktail party.

So little time
Tried to understand that I’m
Trying to make a move just to stay in the game
I try to stay awake and remember my name
But everybody’s changing, and I don’t feel the same

But they say that’s just a phase right? Just a period in time of growing up that you feel you’re a child stuck inside an adult casing. And that it goes away eventually… You join the masses and you grow up. You change too. How come that consolation doesn’t really console me much at all?

Everybody’s changing and I don’t feel right

Leave a Reply

