My Feline Friend

Posted: December 26, 2008 in Uncategorized


I miss my Bandiya.

Having brought up his bro, Cujo, his mum, Spots, and his grandmum, Bonkers, Bandi was always such a favourite at home.

He always ate too much. And then flopped down right smack in the centre of the hall, haughtily obstructing everyone’s way until someone either rubbed his tummy or gave him a big hug.

Whenever I wasn’t feeling too good or I needed a talk, Bandi would suddenly appear around the corner, his big ears tickling my feet. We’d sit long hours on my pillow, me yakking away about all these things running through my brain, him occasionally meowing about fleas or the latest brand of tuna. And he’d just sit there snuggled up to my face, listening and purring away, and mum would often find us both fast asleep after these ranting sessions.

He’d even play with King Tut, my pet rabbit. He must’ve thought Tut was a freakish sort of deformed kitten, and I have fond memories of him carrying fish to Tut and Tut hopping away in fright, only to be followed by Bandi and consoled with an affectionate lick or two.

Then one day, Bandiya took one of his routine walks around the neighborhood, and didn’t come back. I don’t want to even think about asshole truck drivers and the rate of roadkill in Colombo. Hopefully some cat-lover kidnapped him and took him so far away that he couldn’t find his way back, and he’s seated happily on some carpet now munching on his favourite biscuits.

If you happen to see an orangey white fat cat sauntering around and if his ears perk up when you say BANDIYA! just let him know that I miss him loads.

Comments
  1. Lady divine says:

    so so sooooo adorable!Hope Bandi is fine somewhere…

  2. Sabby says:

    I KNOW WHERE HE IS!
    Gutterflower has him! I saw with my own two eyes!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

