Kalu Suddha

Posted: January 27, 2009 in Uncategorized

Aiyyo that’s what I am, man. Or atleast that’s what I’ve been called on more than one occasion. Why? Because my sinhala sucks.

HEY doesn’t mean I don’t want to learn it, and it’s not my fault I have never had the necessity to learn the language in my life, due mostly to only english and tamil speaking fellows within my vicinity.

Anyhoo, funnyass thing happened today no. Was standing at the counter of an art shop, communicating with the counterman in my pathetic version of sinhala. The english translation of the convo went something like this…

Counterman: Ah madam, what colours do you want?
Me: That one, and that one, and this whole box.
Counterman: Ok. And check out this easel and these new paintbrushes, if you want.
Me: Yes yes I saw that. I don’t want.
Counterman: Madam? 😐
Me: I said I looked at it…
Counterman: *Guffaws hysterically* Madam! You’re so funny!
Me: What? What’s so funny? Have you gone nuts? I said I SAW IT!
Counterman: *Still giggling, writes up my bill and gives me my change*
Me: o_O

Later, after discussing this weirdness with others, I made the most retarded discovery.
Instead of saying, ‘Mameh baluwa!’ …meaning, I saw it,
I had been saying, ‘Mameh balala!’ …meaning, I am a cat.

-_-

In other news, the evil nurses got here and sucked my blood to take back to Dr Dracula, and tests say I’m fine and am not dying after all. Invain, all those plans of informing people at icecream shops of my ‘deadly disease’ and getting sympathy free food… Meaw! 😛

Comments
  1. Sabby says:

    Roflmao!Oh man. I thought my Sinhala was bad. Wait. I am still giggling.

  2. TheWhacksteR says:

    haha (i wouldve said something like lmao or roffle but sabby has most ingeniously combined both)my sinhala is not bad actually. tamil not that great. which is one reason relatives start sniggering when i speak it. no artwork on your blog? put up some pics of paintings men.

  3. aufidius says:

    lol..that was funny, reminds me of one of my friends who thinks she designed the keypad on her phone and knows where every key is.being the host of a talk show,and wanting one of our lecturers to take part, she actually sent a text to a senior lecturer asking him to opine on, “which is better, love before massage, or love after massage”..it was meant to read, love before MARRIAGE, or after..to make it worse,appaently his wife was using his phone at the time.

  4. DeeCee says:

    heheheeh! my sinhala is excellent. ok arsy moment over. How u feeling?

  5. Lady divine says:

    I totally get you… I have a few issues too..can’t quite understand the formal lingo.. but I can read and manage to write.. and can talk normal… somewhat..But if i ever want to express something properly, I can’t..oh and I think in english..:)

  6. Makuluwo says:

    LOL ok ok enough with your snarky roflcopters and lollercoasters! Smartasses. ;DAnd no cam to take pics of my current art no, Whacko. 😦 Shall put up my old work though!

  7. aufidius says:

    if they arent framed, u can scan them? photographs wont necessarily do justice to your work.. bets to scan them if u can.

  8. Makuluwo says:

    Hugeass canvas, my dear. Won’t fit in the scanner! Woe woe.

  9. aufidius says:

    larger than A0? well in that case photographing will be the best option, but tghe downside of it is that youll have different levels of depth and different levels of light, unless u get them in one frame, anyway hope you somehow post ur drawings 🙂

  10. Makuluwo says:

    Yeah, that’s true, but what to do! Can’t really appreciate canvas art fully unless you see it in person no? But you guys’ll get to glimpse at the colours atleast in the next post. 🙂

  11. aufidius says:

    yeah good point! invite us all for dinner and we’ll see it in person? :Pyup, looking forward to your next post.

  12. TheWhacksteR says:

    dinner sounds good to me too:D

  13. The Unsilent says:

    haha ur funny!! reminded me of a friend of mine.. her phone battery died and she kept telling ppl ‘mage phone eka marila’ LOLgood to know your doing fine..and dinner sounds good, we can appreciate your art too

Leave a Reply

