Sri Lankan Help Hotlines: We don’t have any

Posted: January 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

I just realized that Sri Lanka does not have any sort of equivalent to a ‘Suicide Hotline’.

Teenagers contemplating suicide or just feeling a little nuts, apparently have to fix a real life meet-up, an appointment with a counselor, at one of our organizations (Sumithrayo or something) in order to be helped in any way.

I’ve spoken to a lot of teenagers who are one or both of the above and really have no one to talk to about the issues on their minds.

How come no help-for-kids NGOs have thought it strange that we don’t have hotlines for phone-counseling? Is it a culture thing? That not many Sri Lankan kids would call and talk to a total stranger about their problems?

So good samaritan that I am (haw haw haw) I’ve called up some contacts and we might be putting up the island’s first 24/7 phone counselling service for teens.
Initially, we were thinking of opening up my personal phone line for counselling for starters, as my counselling techniques (ehehe) have been commended already. But then, I thought it not too safe, what with my, uh, occasional ‘unprofessionalism’..

Crazy person (at 2AM): Hello?
Me (groggy, cranky): Eh.. hallo? Who is this?
Crazy person: Uh.. I think I’m going to kill myself.
Me: Good, atleast then I won’t be getting calls from you at 2 in the friggin morning no?

Or worse, creepy bastards start calling…

Creepy bastard (at 2AM): Hello? Is this the phone sex hotline? Ooh baby…
Me: AAHHHH! @$%!@%#*!!

>.< Ew.

So we shall have to wait till new phone lines are installed and we get more volunteers for the effort! Hopefully it does some good. I’m sure that for once in the history of SL though, Dialog can take a break from being so incessantly prank-called when this hotline comes out.. 😉

Oh, also, here’s a webcam shot of my pride and joy, the product of my latest toil, yesterday’s after-midnight snack:
French toast (I used milk this time, Finrod!) and chicken nuggets.
Bon apetite!

Bahaha! Not too bad for a kitchen-noob no? 😀

Comments
  1. blackexists says:

    hey – i think its an awesome idea!! Sri Lanka is pretty high on the suicide charts, so yep, it would deff would do some good.P.S. the toas looks YUMMO! 😉

  2. hijinx says:

    hey I’d like to help out too :)And I second that… the food.. oh noes.. I’m hungry now!

  3. Azrael says:

    I think Sumithrayo has a hotline?http://www.srilankasumithrayo.orgGreat idea of yours and all the best with it.

  4. Makuluwo says:

    Will give you a buzz soon as the thing’s up, hijinx. ;)And thanks, Azrael, unfortunately that line’s just to fix those real life appointments and isn’t even open 24/7. :/

  5. N says:

    I thought there was a suicide hotline in SL…I remember seeing hoardings for one ages ago…btw you should have said something along the lines of ‘maybe you shuold have done that before you called’…to the suicidal case:D

  6. The Unsilent says:

    hey kewl idea..would like to help if u need anything..and also the food look great. say, if i call the hotline can i get some delivered? pleeeaassse?

  7. Makuluwo says:

    Um, the french toast and nuggets special gets delivered free for just the ubersuicidal emokids, The Unsilent. ;P

Leave a Reply

