Birthday Blues

Posted: February 1, 2009 in Uncategorized
pic by nelchee

I’ll be nineteen come the ninth of this month and I’ll hate it.

I don’t want to grow up.

IDONTWANNAIDONTWANNAIDONTWANNA!
*Throws a tantrum*

I’m being a big fat baby about it, I know. But I can’t believe I’m just one year from being a twenty year old.

I mean, 20 is like, official adulthood or something along those lines no? I don’t think I really grew up all that much since about age 9.
I still play run-and-catchers with little kids.
I still hop around singing inappropriate songs inappropriately.
I still crack really crude and ‘immature’ jokes.
I’ve been told to grow up like a jillion times this year already.
I still giggle like a little school girl when cute guys talk to me, and tell the gross ones that they have cooties.
I still play hopscotch. With eight year olds.
I still like playing imaginary we’re-space-trekkers-on-Mars when someone suggests it.
I find most people my age utterly boring.
I still go ‘eeya!’ at uber-make-out scenes in movies.
I still hate sharing chocolate and will take sneaky measures in order to avoid sharing it.
I still watch cartoons. Spiderman and his Amazing Friends, Tiny Toons, GI Joe, you name it.
I still sit around all day daydreaming about floating in a gondola in Venice or discovering a virus that makes brains explode.
I still pray for snow.

I think all that’s changed over the years is that I’m just a little bitty taller and know a little bit more about people and a coupla new swear words.

And then the stupid calendar goes and says I’m going to be nineteen in 8 days!
Are there many other 20 year olds who still play hopscotch and laugh so hard it hurts at Elmer Fudd getting pwnd by Bugs Bunny?

I don’t know. I don’t even know why I feel so down about getting old.
They say it doesn’t matter right? You’re as old as you feel or whatever.
But I don’t think even presents are going to cheer me up about it this year. Not even cake.

Well okay, maybe if it’s chocolate fudge cake.

Comments
  1. The Unsilent says:

    Hey age is a just a number, as long as u feel young at heart that’s all that matters. I think its great that u still do all those kiddy things. I feel sorry for people who are trying to act all grown up and just miss the fun of letting loose in life.So you may turn 19 who cares? Nothing changes. I was a bit down when I was turning 21, but then realized that you decide how old you are. Don’t let numbers bring you down. Cheers 🙂

  2. Sabby says:

    Hey. HEY!I do most of the stuff you mentioned and I’ll be 23 this year…so yea, you never really, REALLY grow up, do you?!So don’t worry. 20 will come and go and you won’t feel it. =)

  3. Lady divine says:

    we all have a child. adult and parent in us..:) one or two are stronger.. and the child within you is lovely..:) don’t let that child disappear…:) let age make its way every year. you dont have to change..:)*hugz*

  4. TheWhacksteR says:

    18 rocks, 19 sucks, and its all downhill from there. take it from someone who’s turning 24 soon :pBLOGROLLED baby! all the more reason for you to celebrate…

  5. Paparé Boy says:

    I’m 24 now and I was not so different from you when I was 19 (apart from the girly bits, of course. :p )You’re doing just fine, dude.

  6. AmethystSoul says:

    Eh, my brother is 24 and he still cracks up over Elmer and Bugs and Daffy. Don’t sweat it, dude. Personally I’ve always felt older than my age – but it comes to the same thing 😛

  7. The Celestial Dream says:

    Hey, Don’t worry. You can act any age you want. ‘Cos though years pass by, who you are in your heart matters than anything else. Be 19 everyday. Heck, I got called a 5 year old today. That made my heart skip :)HUGS

  8. Azrael says:

    It’s good to let the kid in you run around when adult life gets too boring or complicated. in some of us the kid seems to be more active than the adult he he. Nothing wrong with that. I lurve cartoons, especially the looney toones, still buy model toy cars, go browsing through toy stores he he. LONG LIVE THE KID!!!Cheers!!!

  9. Makuluwo says:

    Aw thanks guys, good to know I’m not alone. 🙂

  10. nikang says:

    Oh hell yeah, ye arent alone.When I turned twenty, I got all depressed, ‘coz my teen years were over…I figured it would be “the end” of all good things… BUT..hah! I gave it a good *smack in the all so flabby arse and celebrated me birthday with much pizzzzaa (which I had gotten as a birthday present- weeehooo)…. and dude… except the giggling bit..I do everything that ye’ve listed and even more..I have people at my age getting married and being all so grown up’ish…Ye just need to be glad of wot ye are and who ye are… and not let age get the better of ye. Stay kiddy Ye…its best thing in us and it keeps ye happy!!!! p.s. Agree with the choc fudge, mmmmmhmmm!!!!!!

  11. DeeCee says:

    just enjoy every bit of life handed to you, the good, the bad the ugly, everything!*wheee.e…..happy comment*

Leave a Reply

