Just another sunset

Posted: February 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

Listening to K’naan, Somalian-born performer, after watching an interesting interview of this spunky ‘Dusty Foot Philosopher‘. Usually can’t stand modern hip-hop/rap, because of the genre being notorious for the shit for lyrics syndrome, but this guy sings about life in Somalia, so naturally, woah.
The stuff of his tracks, backed up with clever wordplay and catchy trippy and tribal beats, throws you into the lives of Somalia’s war/poverty-stricken people. He makes you wonder, what’s hardcore really?

Anyhoo, took a little walk to the beach down the lane yesterday after ages, an ordinary little Monday evening with thankfully most people busy at work than on the shore.
Hate it on weekends, when the place is scattered with pervies, annoying little kids and fat guys in speedoes. Sue me.
Just one weirdgodayperson was around, singing some sinhala love song that sounded something like LA LA LA NA NA NA *tuneless jibberish*, but I managed to shoo him off with a look that said STFU LUZR.

Soooooo relaxing; sat cross-legged on the sand and closed my eyes, breathing in the salty air, the sounds of the tides filling my head. There is something about that salty air, that is just so incredibly therapeutic no? Therapists should do just that when they want to relax their patients: fill the room up with salt-flavoured air and play a soundtrack of waves crashing on the shore!

Ok ok, there’s a reason why I never went into the medical stream. 😛

Soon the space around the lustrous globe of sun turned a pale pink as it got ready to sink. I have probably watched this a hundred times before, but every time I watch it this childish joy spreads over me and I gawk as if I’ve never seen something so beautiful before.

Flocks of crows did their ritual dance in the sky, restlessly looking for shelter for the coming night. Pinks, indigo, yellow, the richest reds, kissed the edges of the sun, and the tide got higher, the breeze wilder. Darker, darker, until the horizon swallowed all of the light.

And as reflexively as the birds leaving the blackening sky and the waves growing bigger and louder, the people head home.

I dust the sand off my feet and walk back, and notice that just like that, my batteries are all recharged. Sounds idyllic and silly but any sort of qualms or questions or naggings I’d had the previous week had just disappeared like the sun. And it happens like magic every time I go sit there from 5 to 6ish.

The birthday‘s on a Monday itseems. Already know how I’m gonna spend it. 😉

Comments
  1. TheWhacksteR says:

    damn i cant view veidos at office! wanna check out this somalian dude, at least someone chose different from the popular occupation of ‘pirate’.

  2. nikang says:

    mesa lurrrrrves the sea! Haaapppy happpy birthdaaayyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! (in advance..treat yeself with much Choc fudge and seaweed)

  3. Azrael says:

    Ah Love the beach myself. So true about sitting on the beach, listening to the waves, does seem to make everything else disappear. Damn, this is making me homesick 😦

  4. Azrael says:

    Almost forgot, Happy Birthday in Advance :DHope you have a great day!!!

  5. Paparé Boy says:

    Is it just me or does that Somalian dude sound an awful lot like Eminem?Good stuff, man. You into old school hip hop by any chance?

  6. Makuluwo says:

    Thanks for the wishes in advance. ;DAnd not really Paparé Boy, I’m usually just a rock/jazz fan. :/

  7. Paparé Boy says:

    Well, me too. :pBut I like the old school stuff… “real” rap… as opposed to the (c)rap that is being dished out today about “bitches” and bling bling.That Somalian guy is a breath of fresh air. :)Hip hop is great stuff to dance, though. 😀

  8. Makuluwo says:

    Haha true enough. ;DI’m actually currently obsessed with M.I.A., that hip-hop-rap-ey girl in the UK who sings about our civil war and all that jazz. Get her albums!

Leave a Reply

