I sat below the trees

Posted: February 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

I sat below the trees that day
Their branches kissed the sky
Reached my fingers to the clouds
And drew a butterfly
It came to life and spring, it did
Across the velvet sun
Then turn into a child, it did
And through the woods did run
I laughed at this and then I saw
The sun had disappeared
No more did it adorn the skies
Instead I saw it near
Two squirrels sniffed the golden orb
That had fallen to the ground
They chased it as it rolled away
Never to be found
In the sunless darkness then
I saw a shining light
The star, it lit the black night up
With all its blinding white
A bat then flew into its path
Alas! It ate the star
And gulped it down, the hungry thing!
Then flew so very far
Before I could follow the fiend
The grass began to grow
And wrapped its weeds around my legs
And wouldn’t let me go!

So there I sat with purple flowers
That grew from barks of trees
Oft I’d see sweet melodies
Drift from the mouths of bees
I saw a million rainbows once
Some were black and white!
One even had a leprechaun
Who danced into the night!
Then whilst I plucked red apples
That hung from a bushy cloud
I saw a rabbit in a tree
Whose branches shook so loud
The wind it blew the leaves away
The rabbit missed a step
But its fluffy wings broke its fall
And into the wind it leapt!
Talking turtles, dancing bears,
Several did I meet
Even a row of gophers
Whistling tunes so awfully sweet

I sit below the trees some days
You might ask me now what for
And I’d tell you ’tis nought but to dream
Of things I never saw.

Comments
  1. TheWhacksteR says:

    Hah!reminded me of ALice in Wonderland. And then your trip ended eh 😀 nice song!

  2. The Unsilent says:

    What a happy poem! nice one

  3. AmethystSoul says:

    Lewis Carrollish and very, very cute. Made me think of those freaky dreams you have where the normal don’t exist.

  4. tash says:

    really nice!! 🙂

  5. Sigma says:

    Ah Maks,what a lovely place you take us too…. talking turtles, dancing bears…. I envy the workings of thy mind indeed.

  6. PseudoRandom says:

    Lovely!

  7. Thé Doc says:

    Very escapist… i like.

  8. Makuluwo says:

    Spank you very much, everyone. ;D

Leave a Reply

