Twittertwittertweetytwit- Oh shut up already.

Posted: April 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

Twitter! The new much-hyped-up about application ’round town these days.

Facebook stats wilt in comparison to the adoring Twitter fans and Twitterculture that is now freakishly on the rise.

So I joined some while ago, must see what the haahoo is no?

And it was fun to use for a while, yeah.
In times of boredom, ze bloggersphere’d be there to twitter-chat up with.
Special thanks to chavie and pseud0random for their constant HAAAIs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But then, uh, wasn’t that what chatrooms were made for?

Mhm I left Twitter.
And people were like, OMG WHY IN GOD’S NAME?! WHYYYY?!
And I said, Come, child. Let me tell you. For you have much to learn…

The big deal about Twitter, itseems, is that the twitter updates let everyone know what you’re doing at every moment of your day.

Ok, what?

‘I’m walking to the bathroom now, need to go pee.’
‘Oh look, I found a cool bug on the way to the bathroom.’
‘I’m sitting down to pee now.’
‘I’m standing up now.’
‘I’m washing my han-

Dude. NOBODY cares. -_-

Sometimes it’s like…
Hey man, what were you doing talking to Blahblah at Barista’s?
‘WTF?! How the shit did you know that?! Are you STALKING ME?!’
Uh no, I’m just following you on Twitter.

O_O

People wanted to stay in touch with their friends: Facebook was made.
They wanted a medium to chat with those friends and see what they’re upto: MSN and Yahoo Messenger were made.
Then they said, eh I can’t be bothered chatting to them, I just want to find out what’s on their mind these days: and voila! Facebook and Messenger status/personal messages were created.

So, like… what exactly does Twitter do?
Tell the whole apathetic world things about your life that they don’t much care about?

Sometimes it’s like..
‘Isn’t it funny how cheese toast tastes even better than Pringles?’
And everyone else is like..
‘@you: Omg yeah! Have you tried frying it with way too much butter? Even better!’

And it goes on. An utterly pointless yet immensely fun discussion.
Thing is though, with constant twittering, Twitter lags like a fool. And the discussion gets all mixed up in order or you just can’t be bothered to reply cuz of all the lag.

There’s also a 140 word limit to all twitter updates.
So this whole twitterific pseudo-chatting business is pretty lame.

Well, you don’t fool me, Mr cute-twitter-bird-who’s-winking-invitingly-at-me!
I have come to the conclusion that you’re just a ripoff of other applications.
And a tool to lead the masses, because it makes people feel *speshal* that the rest of the world is getting constant updates on their own insignificant little lives.

So nya! ๐Ÿ˜›

*Awaits the wrath of the Twittersphere to descend upon her*
๐Ÿ˜€

Comments
  1. Gadgetgirl says:

    Haha! Ok…aayyyy! Say, I think my brain's getting on the right side of things. It warned me about Twitter! ;P.&& Thanks for the wishes Spidey! Didnt have enought credit to text you back.

  2. T says:

    i think the basic rule with twitter, as with everything else is, if you dont like it, dont join it.also, its necessary to have a modicum of wit about you when using twitter. ive been on it for a while and im yet to see someone tweeting about what they do in the bathroom. the real fun is in not only condensing your thoughts into 140 characters but doing so in a witty and interesting manner. Many fail to grasp this concept, clearly.

  3. Makuluwo says:

    LOL, T. The wrath of the twittersphere has descended. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. PseudoRandom says:

    Hehe no wrath from here :)I joined Twitter ‘cos there are things on my mind that I want to get out…but they’re too short to be blog posts, too insignificant to burden my close friends with, and too personal to go on Facebook. Associating the statements with my blogger identity gives me an anonymous outlet, which serves me well.The chatroom-esque nature that has taken over the Lankan section of Twitter can be entertaining if you’re not too involved in it, and at worst slightly stressful if you are. But with more people leaning more to the ‘stressed’ side and leaving as a result, Twitter as we experience it might soon return to what it was originally intended for…microblogging.As for “who wants to hear this stuff”…the same argument applies to personal blogs. Twitter is just an abbreviation. This is why I don’t follow ‘famous people’ – I don’t actually care what they’re doing. I follow bloggers whose blogs I read because it gives me a better insight into their character.So yeah, I think we have different views of Twitter, but that’s ok twinsisterlady, I still *heart* you ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. T says:

    that’s hardly wrath and far be it from me to represent the twittersphere. its just my opinion.

  6. Dili says:

    TBH youve actually given me something to think about here, and whether ive really been microblogging. Thing is twitter is far more similar to a IM app than your run-of-the-mill web publishing medium. So its easy to 'mistake' one for the other. I remember this chapter in one of my old IT reference books where the EXACT same attitude you're directing towards twitter here was directed @ blogs & see where blogs are now. So I think twitter just needs some time to boil down and find its proper feet. I think T spelled it out quite nicely actually, kudos.& kudos on the entertaining rant :)& who the hell were you following that gave you their bathroom habits? LOL

  7. Anonymous says:

    Any new fad or techy innovations reach Sri Lanka about three years after it gets popular with the rest of the world. Quite like Facebook and now twitter.Everybody laughs about it, if you see many Sri Lankans entering the scene then you know the scene is dead and its time to leave! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. DeeCee says:

    anon – hari hari…api godei;)yea…i’ve reduced twittering…died down a bit…I just do the random hai

  9. Mr cute-twitter-bird-who's-winking-invitingly-at-you says:

    Your days are numbered, deviant.

  10. Kaiser Kobayashi says:

    so THATS what twitter does!!! Rather oblivious to advancements in the online stalker-finder department!!! :p HI5 scared me big time so decided to stick to facebook…forever!!! But the post does seem to have some serious underlying issues!!! :p tell! tell! what did the twits do to you to deserve such a harsh review??? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a great day aney! Cheers!Kaiser of Chaos.

  11. Chavie says:

    is this still about the hentai? O.o anyways, I think what you did was both brave and very wise… ah, if only I had your courage, maybe I could start studying! ๐Ÿ˜‰ lolz

  12. Azrael says:

    Yep, Twitter is stupid. There I said it ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. Sachintha says:

    Ha, gimme a five!LOLYeah I tried it a couple of times but utterly bored so left.

  14. Serendib_Isle says:

    Mak, THANK YOU! Nicely said.I was contemplating about joining the lil birdie, but now I know for sure.โ€œTwitter is tweet, but no thankoooโ€ for me.

  15. Chavie says:

    this post makes so much sense in retrospect! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

