Who Says Cartoons Are Just For Kids?

Posted: June 1, 2009 in Uncategorized
Princess Azula of the Fire Nation
Avatar The Last Airbender

I have an avid interest in cartoons and I’m not nine years old.

Some might say this spells immaturity, blah-di-blah, but what is this direct association made between cartoon-watching and kids?
Just because the actors aren’t real?
I say cartoons are just as good as, or maybe even better than, movies or anything else you watch on TV.
You’ve got some lame ones, and some worth watching- the same that goes for ‘real’ TV programs.

Lame cartoons, of course, are the real kiddie ones.
You know, the ones with a secret agenda to brainwash children into eating disgusting vegetables or being politically correct.
I see right through you, writers of Popeye the Sailorman! And you can’t make me eat that green gunk! Never, I say!

Also, the ones that are pretty pointless and predictable, with a lot of action and no plot, such as that annoying little midget Dora the Explorer, and that incessantly repetitive Tom & Jerry.
I get sick of watching the cat’s epic failures at being a cat.
*Dodges shoes being thrown at her by hardcore Tom & Jerry fans* πŸ˜›

But cartoons are different now.
Ben10, Avatar, Chowder, The Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy, are just some of the cartoons that I say must be watched.
There’s a lot of character psychology, dark humour, and the injustice and asymmetry of life thrown in, which make you go, hmm this is just as cool as that amazing movie I watched.
Then you switch to dayumn, this is even better than that amazing movie I watched when the fantasy-bit of the cartoon shoots out.

I think the days of cartoons being an exclusively-for-kids-thing are long gone.
The comedy’s even better in a cartoon because the body-language and facial-expressions of the comedian in a cartoon are way more expandable than the ones in a real movie.
The action is way better because not only is it usually in abundance but it’s also awesomely vast, what with the cartoony superpowers and what not.
The content has potential to be even more entertaining because you get to merge seriousness with comedy and fantasy with credibility, without confusing the plot as it would in a movie.

Plus, for some reason, I can’t quite put my finger on it, cartoons are just more fun to watch in general.

Am I right? Or am I just an abnormally tall nine year old after all?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Amen!!!!too much of avatar yesterday night it seems!!! LoL

  2. Chavie says:

    “The comedy’s even better in a cartoon because the body-language and facial-expressions of the comedian in a cartoon are way more expandable than the ones in a real movie.”lol, like the time Katara got all mad at Toph in Avatar Book 2? Remember that one? lol ;Ddid you watch Wall-E btw?

  3. That Girl says:

    Azula was by far one of my favorites! spc the final chapter!..seriously the breathing lightning thing! daaamn! You’re not completely off on the cartoons thing though. These are more “big-kid cartoons”… with actual stories, plots, jokes, etc… not just the biff, bang and pow of the kiddy cartoons! and don’t even get me started on dora!! (although i do kinda like blues clues..but in my defense its only cos steve is cute)=)

  4. ~ lo$t $oul ~ says:

    AVATOR is kinda rubbin on n making me like it.. :)How could u not like T&J?!?!? but then again im gettin bored of it too… oh btw wht abt SOUTHPARK?!?! does it qualify as cartoon???

  5. Sigma says:

    Just tall for a nine year old Mak’s

  6. deeps says:

    well said..i love cartoons too. but when i watch them, my dad is frantic..he says cartoons are for children and reminds me that ven. soma thera disgusted the people who watch cartoons.wel, bt what the hell, they are for everybody

  7. chathuraw says:

    Hmmm… Looks like its not just you. Or there are waaay too many too tall 9 year olds here :D….*Throws a shoe for that Tom & Jerry Comment*Anyway… Love Avatar. Started watching it recently. πŸ™‚ And there's a new animated movie called Monsters and Aliens. Check it out!

  8. AmethystSoul says:

    You are not an abnormally tall nine year old. As someone who’s been an abnormally tall nine year old, I can vouch for that. πŸ˜› call yourself in touch with your inner child.

  9. niroshinie says:

    I love watching cartoons too..I'm with you on T&J – that just annoys me. Most Disney ones make me cry – that's how muchI love 'em!.. And Rugrats and Wild Thornberries and Spongebob! Oh and anyone remember Jem & the holograms?

  10. Makuluwo says:

    @Anonymous- Yep! :D@Chavie- Or just ALL Sokka's hilarious facial expressions! :DAnd nope I didn't, was it any good? I'm not so big on animation, besides a few like Madagascar-1 or Ice Age-1.@That Girl- BLUES CLUES STEVE IS CUTE?! You, my friend, are one disturbing individual! @lost soul- HAHA dude, Southpark is banned on public airwaves! So no, it doesn't fit the criteria. :PIt still KICKS ASS though.@Sig- Probably. :D@deeps- ven. soma thera did WHAT? O_o That's madness.@chathuraw- Ooh just started? You're gonna fall in love with it! @AmethystSoul- Haha! In touch with my inner child, I like the sound of that. Makes me sound like a big hippy. πŸ˜› @niroshinie- Jem and the Holograms! LOL I LOVED that cartoon to PIECES! I wish they still aired it. 😦

  11. Chavie says:

    Maks, trust me on this: You’ve got to watch Wall-E!!! you’d never realize the true potential of animated films till you’ve watched Wall-E… watchitwatchitwatchit! :Dand yea… Sokka! maaaaan… lol, could go on about that bugger for hours… πŸ˜€ his character actually convinced me to try out Haiku! (yes, it turned out to be a disaster… lol) πŸ˜€

  12. Suri says:

    I'm 23 years old and i love all form of cartoons to death. So you're just fine. People who actually make cartoons aren't kids so why should anyone say that cartoons are just for kids? πŸ™‚ it's not, it's a form of art , a splendid one at that.And i agree with Chavie, you should watch all of the Pixar movies, everyone of them, even the shorts they've created over the years, they are pure geniuses.If we weren't kids at heart, the world would be very boring ;)Cheers!

  13. Suri says:

    Oh and nice Sketch πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

