BOOMBLAGRSSHHH!

Posted: June 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

is the sound of my mind exploding, from watching Thriloka’s live concert, Thrilogy, at the Bishops College auditorium tonight.


Just got back, and I cannot even begin to describe to you in mere words the sensation of being there listening to those performers.
I died and went to heaven.
But that might just be the endorphins talking.

I sat up front, blown away by the opening performance followed by their popular Chimera.
And during recess, after buying two copies of their album Bisura (yes, two), lo and behold! I find The Puppeteer.
And this very familiar looking fellow sitting beside her.
Turned out to be Whacko, couldn’t recognize him at all with his new hair! *snigger*
These two might claim that they made me believe he was actually Whacko’s identical twin brother (who doesn’t exist) for a few minutes, but don’t believe their pack of lies. 😛

Anyway, long story short, their performance was nothing short of mind-blowingly brilliant.
If mortals could create magic, Thriloka and the Contemporary Chamber Orchestra alongside them have mastered the art.
I couldn’t help but sit there before the stage, with a stupid grin on my face, in awe, my jaw occasionally falling to the floor.

The music wasn’t just music, it wasn’t just people playing instruments, it was a mind-trip.
It was movement. At some point, I closed my eyes, and I could feel the whole room swirling in one mass of colour… and no I have not been smoking illegal substances. 😛

The piano, the guitars, the orchestral cellos and violins, and man, the drums!
Although the drummer was amazing, the performance I adored even more was the playing of the traditional percussion drums.
You could, literally, feel the beat in your chest, as if possessed by the music.
They called themselves “storytellers” and I don’t think I’ll soon forget the stories they told in that hall tonight.
Ecstasy, despair, wrath, were some of the songs their instruments sung with precision, and the 15 or so performers on stage wove tales as just one sole entity.

I think what made the night so insane was the connection that these guys seemed to have with their music, the emotion that just burst out of their performances and pierced right through everybody on and off stage, the passion that made all their separate instruments come together as one roaring epiphany.

I am just high on it right now, as you’ve probably noticed from all the hippy-like rambling.
So high on it and energized that I have this sudden urge to run across a huge field screaming at the top of my lungs.
Scary, I know.

Thriloka is raw talent fused with creativity, and I don’t have a doubt in my mind that they’d blow minds worldwide if they worked for the fame.
But they don’t.
Their music isn’t work at all.
It’s life, it’s being human, it’s as innate as breathing air.

Comments
  1. Sigma says:

    And with that post I was lifted up and carried across the desert and seas to sit there at the BCA! I wanna a copy of their album too (hint hint)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Mom preaches Islam. Daughter dances at clubs. Very nice indeed. Good for you Makuluwo. Keep it up. Now go delete this comment you Cereberal ass kissing spider. Hypocrites like you are a curse to Islam.

  3. Makuluwo says:

    @Sigma- Maybe I'll mail the tracks to you, man! :D@Anon- LOL hi NB. It wasn't a 'club', twit, it was an orchestral performance, an Art.Aggressive neanderthals like you are a curse to humanity. :PAs for your other revolting unpublished comments, I am what I am, am open with it, and everyone in my life has accepted it. So take your holier than thou attitude and shove it.

  4. Plonker says:

    Yes indeed, if what you consider good music is naught but irrational loudness. Yes, there was power in the noise that blared from those speakers. However, I see no quality and enjoyment in what can only be termed as an assault on my ears. Perhaps I am getting along in my years, but I strongly feel that the concert last night was merely an expression of senseless cacophony.Sig, perhaps the CD is good, I know not. While the concept that Thriloka wished to bring to their audience is commendable, the execution thereof was of very poor taste. For the first time in all my life, I heard bad violins. It is obviously not the fault of the music, nor that of the performer, but of the sound crew who were clearly unable to properly balance the instruments. Believe me when I say that you were fortunate not to have wasted 2 hours of your life. And finally, explain this to me;1. If the music was so "mind blowing" as expressed by Makuluwo, how is it that I saw no one get up and dance?2. That the mere fact that there were at least 5 occasions where there was feedback from the speakers did not signal to the members of the audience that something was very wrong about the sound produced?- Lucy Ps – subsequent to all that brouhaha about punctuality, they did NOT start nor finish on time. A mighty sorry state of affairs.

  5. Makuluwo says:

    @Lucy- I loved every moment of it, but then again, I don't consider myself an expert on music or musical instruments. I must say though, that the overall feedback was very positive. But we're all entitled to our own opinions. 🙂 Are you Sri Lankan btw? Because, lol, everyone here knows that:1. Sri Lankan adults are usually too conservative to not find it terribly awkward to dance in a room full of chairs. 2. Sri Lankans never start or finish their events on time. 😉

  6. Lady divine says:

    Do they have a second album?I got the first one and absolutely love it!

  7. Sigma says:

    @ Lucy. Hi, I shall certainly make an attempt t get my hands on the CD; thereafter will let you know what I think. SL audiences tend to be rather staid, its indeed an infrequent occasion that an audience actually gets up and shakes a boogie, I cant think of a single occasion I've seen it come to think about it… SL has some great creative talent, in art, music and theater, sadly, the market is not large enough to sustain them full time.@Mak's: word verification 'nowears'? What you implying?!

  8. Makuluwo says:

    @Lady D- Well both our copies are actually Bisura, except the latest copy has +2 songs in it. (: But apparently they've made plenty of small-scale albums before Bisura! @Sig- Bahaha! Figure it out and I'll personally mail you cookies in an envelope! ;D

  9. TheWhacksteR says:

    yes i felt the urge to 'shake a boogie' as well once or twice as sig puts it.. and re the twin thing. lol we had you there for a few minutes

  10. Radsmatazz says:

    That's a wonderful jutification for the lack of punctuality – "everyone does it hahaha". Brilliant. I see your standards are by no means astronomical.Further, a member of the chamber orchestra who spoke to us right after the concert was telling us that they had spent 2 days trying to balance the instruments. Keyword – "trying". Am I to understand then that the apparent music loving public of Sri Lanka are actually quite unaware of the sciences behind the sound? One needs not be an expert. I know I certainly am not. However, I know quality when I hear it…as I have heard a lot of music. Yes my dear Arachnid/s, I am very much a Sri Lankan, and FYI, I have been to shows where people have stood up and danced, and I have stood up and danced myself. Good luck in your quest for understanding music.- Lucy

  11. Makuluwo says:

    @Lucy- Jeez, lady, chill. 😀 It's just a concert! Some people have a good time, some don't, get over it. @Whacko- Ssshhh! Don't tell everybody! 😛

  12. Rhythmic Diaspora says:

    I must, I must, see this band!

  13. Jack Point says:

    What is this thing with Thriloka? Every one seems to be raving about them.

Leave a Reply

