Girls Aren’t Funny

Posted: June 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

Far be it from the notion that I’m trying to be sexist here (since I’m a girl with a love for comedy myself) but, on the spot, tell me, how many female comedians do you know?

Really funny women?

Uh.. Ellen Degeneres, Kathy Griffin, Tina Fey.. Sarah Silverman… uhm…
that red-head in How I Met Your Mother is kinda funny…?

And how many funny guys do you know?
Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, Dave Chapelle, Russell Peters, Jack Black, Ben Stiller, Sacha Baron Cohen, Seth Rogen, Adam Sandler, Chris Rock, Robin Williams, Mike Myers, Will Ferrell, Jerry Seinfeld, Ricky Gervais… and the list goes on.

Celebritydom aside, of the people who make you really LOL personally, how many are girls?
I for one have to say the funny guys to funny girls ratio in my circle of friends is a clear 5:1.

One interesting explanation I got from a funny person about this issue was ‘laughter is something that’s essentially kiddish and girls grow up at 16 while boys don’t grow up till they’re… well they don’t grow up.’
Another one was ‘girls are just too serious, too sensitive’, obviously referring to a very rare tolerance by the fairer sex of slapstick jokes or personal jabs.
“I made a yo-momma joke at a female friend once, it’s a friggin joke, and she didn’t talk to me for a week,” whines Mr Funny Guy. “Never happens with the boys.”

And I’ve found from observation that though lots of girls absolutely appreciate comic art on TV and what not, it’s very rare that they take steps to apply the comedy in everyday life.
But if I had a penny for every time some guy said something out of a Seth Rogen or Russell Peters act and cracked up over it with the gang, I’d be pretty damn rich.

Now this is not to say women are humourless hags (I’m going to wear protective armour for a while anyway just incase the feminazis have read this), but although it’s a generalization, the stats don’t lie.
Or do they?
Is it just an overrated social setting we’re stuck in, where the guys are supposed to do the frivolous jester stuff while the damsels giggle in ‘hee hee ur so funny!’ appreciation?
Or are girls on average (uh oh, she’s gonna say it) just not funny?

Speaking of comedy, I’m on the lookout for the ultimate LOL-inducing movie.
Suggestions?

Comments
  1. Chavie says:

    LOL, I can't wait till Jerry sees this one! 😀

  2. Dili | දිලින says:

    Simple, most girls are prudes. You cant have a funnybone and be prim & proper. Incidentally, ill bet little or none of those female funnies you know of are Lady Diana-esque girls. They are more leaning towards the tomboyish side methinks. Right?

  3. PseudoRandom says:

    Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders, Catherine Tate, Joan Rivers…A lot of 'male' humour is crude and vulgar, and perhaps a lot of girls feel that openly appreciating such humour would be 'unladylike'? There's a notion that only the ladylike girls get the guys, so maybe the 'damsel giggle' is preferred? I wouldn't know, I'm too busy laughing at the dirty jokes 😀

  4. Sam says:

    I think it is because of the simple reason; girls don’t have to be funny to be loved. Most of the terribly good comedians like Robin Williams, Jay Leno or Dave Chappelle, they ALL started by trying to make their moms laugh in order be loved. Girls don’t have to take such an awful path.

  5. Serendib_Isle says:

    To say “interesting” is an understatement. Come think of it, I do tend to agree with Pseudo. I mean, spending a sleepless night at a “funeral house” is extremely hilarious, thanks to all the vulgar jokes and stories that keep everyone awake. A woman would not fit in there for sure, and majority of the jokes I know are very much “unsuitable for ladies” too.I think ladylike behaviour does not go hand in had with comedy, but, even the most tomboyish girls I know aren’t into filthy jokes. So I’d say even 1:5 is a very optimistic ratio. 😉

  6. Dili | දිලින says:

    You dont have to be vulgar and crude to be funny, and thats NOT the entire scope of male humour either 😛 One of the funniest girls I know would go "EEEEEEYA" at the the mere mention of anything remotely sexual or vulgar and shes definitely a tomboy. Like Serendib said, you cant be a lady and be funny, you have to let yourself go a bit.

  7. delilahsays says:

    interesting. Maybe its because the better known male comedians outnumber the females. And like PR said women tend to shy away from the vulgarity which makes it all that much funnier. But that doesnt necessarily make women any less funnier. i find that most women have the capacity to be wittier than most men i meet in day to day life 🙂

  8. Sasнiиi says:

    Oh hell no :Dwomen may not be all the comedic themselves- but it doesnt mean that we dont appreciate it.Take me, for example: I gleefully devour all the videos of Russell Peters, Dane Cook, Jeff Dunham & the like. & I LOVE yo momma jokes 😛 & i've just watched all the comedy movies shown on Qatar Airways on the 6-7 hour flight from Paris to Doha. But even with all that- yeah, it's a fact that men make the best jokes. After all- they're for entertainment purposes only :P[DONT SHOOT ME- IT WAS A JOKE. My alter ago made me do it :$]

Leave a Reply

