Escape

Posted: July 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

Found this old thing while rummaging through my old files…

It’s longer, and way different, from my usual blog posts.
But bare with me if you will, it’s one of my favourite escapes!


The grass cooled my cheek as I lay there, still. All around me, grass, dewy grass, as far as the eye could see, and thin trees that reached for the sky like a fervent prayer.

I was alone here, with the sun softly glowing on me like a lamp in the morning sky. But the place was luscious with sound. A red butterfly sat upon my hand, resting its wings, and it began to sing to me.

Are you a fairy? I asked, for not once had I ever seen such a ridiculous thing as a butterfly singing. It hummed gently, a sound that I can only describe to you as something alike to the lapping of the tides on a warm summer day, sweet and calming- not as graceful as the songs of the birds, neither as loud as the cheery rustle of forest leaves.

And then it said, butterflies sing all the time; it just so happens that seldom do you find someone who will be quiet enough, and believing enough, that they hear its song.
I laughed at this, and my laugh fluttered away with the red butterfly, a mysterious pair of musical notes.

The air smelled like a crispy fresh blanket, warm and hopeful, and the wind tugged at my hair like a mother’s careless touch. Everything moved so slowly here, as though there was no hurry to be anywhere but within this sense of reflection. And the hours passed like glorious drops of nectar down the stem of a plant, eternal.

There was no time to wonder about. Time was but a part of all that moved within this escape, not something to fight against or for. The long unkempt grass with yellow tips swayed in the breeze, dancing a slow rhythm, not a care in the world, and I leaped off the ground and joined them in their ritual.

Yellow leaves crunched below my bare feet, and the large leaves of the oak tree that stood above me like a sheltering brother glistened like stars when the sun shone through. The sky was clear and blue, and purple and red in some places, and white cumulus clouds patrolled its silhouette, watchful guardians of those below.

I was not aware at first of the notes that escaped from my throat, as they sounded distant, as though a part of this large haven. But I was singing, and the leaves, the clouds, the sun, the birds, trees, butterflies, they all seemed to move about me, and their sound and mine came together, a symphony. How can I describe it to you? It is like a fish describing its life to those living on land. No words can paint this sensation.

I lay down again, the cool grass bedding the back of my head, and inhaled this indolence, breathed in this simple song, this perfect circle. A purple pigeon perched its little feet upon a cloud that had wandered above me, and sang to me the sweetest goodbye.

I don’t want to go! I say to it, a stubborn frown on my face.
But I must, I must. I closed my eyes. And my heart swelled with anticipation for the next hour whence I should return to Neverland.

Comments
  1. AlterEgo says:

    definitely different from what you usually write.. interesting

  2. Chavie says:

    wonderful!! 🙂

  3. delilahsays says:

    nice but so so different from the usual Maks stuff 🙂

  4. Paparé Boy says:

    Emo. :p

  5. Dee says:

    wow maks i love it

  6. She Who Eats Cookies says:

    Wow, it's differant, but beautiful!

  7. Gadgetgirl says:

    Wow! Very natural!Since when did you get all like Papare mentioned "Emo"? ;D.

  8. Makuluwo says:

    Thanks guys! It's just some blah I wrote in one of my rare blah moods. Papare Boy, I'll 'respond' to that comment next time we meet up. Be very afraid. 😛

Leave a Reply

