Colombo Art Biyanahlaiy

Posted: September 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

So we went to this Colombo Art Biannale [bee-ah-nah-lay] thingy (Biannale = Bi-annual itseems, but Biannale makes it sound more posh, clearly).
The theme was all about peace and war in SL and such.

The Puppeteer (who has the seeing eye, evidently), was interpreting the artsy things to me, when Whacko, Jerry and St Gay- I mean Fallen, appeared as well.

It was meh-ish for me. Nothing as WOOT as I was expecting it to be.
My favourite and The Puppeteer’s was The Curtain- a long series of curtains, speckled with printed flowers, with everyday objects on them: everyday objects that, the artist says, you could use to kill someone.

I still don’t get why there was a picture of an abacus on it though.
What, teach them math to death?

St Fallen was being a totally unoriginal turd about the Curtain, spewing some rubbish about how a sledgehammer was more than sufficient for a creative murder.
Then the bald manchild got emo and strangled me (quite literally, mind) after I responded to this by saying The Puppeteer was more hardcore morbid than him (which is true).

Whacko and St Fallen were throwing punches and things in my direction all day (avoided by my ninja-like reflexes obviously), what is the meaning of this madness? The build-up of frustrations due to Fasting, let’s assume i.e. they’re bitter that Papareboy’s mum loves me best.

I don’t know, man, about this whole Art thing.
What is art even? The Biyanahlaiy has totally confused me. They had little scribbles of broken beds or something, and The Puppeteer is like, maybe the bed is a symbol of peace because you’re at rest when you’re on it.

And I was like, wut. That’s like looking at three traffic cones connected by police ropes and saying they symbolize the coming together of the three elements of Earth or something.

We did this, by the way, after leaving the place.
Then I threw a card onto the pavement in a fit of frustration of not knowing what the meaning of art and life was.

Not really. I just got tired of holding it. And it smelled funny.
Yes. Random post. My legs ache from walking.
Does anyone else think it’s ridiculous that people are walking in the 21st century? Shouldn’t pedestrians all have remote controlled roller-blade wheelchairs by now?

Comments
  1. Suri says:

    I think sometimes abstract/modern/post modern art has that effect on most people, but i guess the thing is that you will never see a piece of abstract art for it's true meaning unless you are the one who created it. I just like to see how different people are by what they create and to see how differently everyone thinks. I don't think there's a 'correct' solution to art. Instead there are millions of solutions. Let alone there being a correct definition to 'art'. 🙂

  2. She Who Eats Cookies says:

    HAHAHAHAHA. Fun xDbut if you do manage to I invent 'em wheelchairs- GIU EET TO MEH. kthx. but still- FLOATING CHAIRS PWN YOU ALL.

  3. Chavie says:

    pfft, obviously y'all weren't artsy enough to understand it all! 😉 lmao! xD

  4. Sachintha says:

    Didn't you know? You should be able to understand 'art' these days if you are to be posh. You're supposed to pretend you understand and then comment on them and such…

Leave a Reply

