Attack of the Puddles

Posted: September 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

Puddles.
Tricky little weasels, those.

I leaned over one and examined it. The image of my face blinked back at me, oblivious to the unnecessary puddle-induced abuse that was to come.

It wasn’t even raining.
And yet after 20 minutes of trudging back from the bank, while quite skillfully avoiding the puddles (or so I thought), there I was, soggy left foot and all, scrutinizing one of the many culprits.

How did you get into my shoes like that, I questioned, squinting at the puddle.
Which was quite clearly sniggering like this on the inside.

It stayed silent.
Clever.

I gave it the stink-eye and kept walking.
Then later, two people randomly appeared on my left and asked me if I was Mister Rakzasomethin’s daughter.
And I was like, uh no.
But they asked if I was sure.
Before I could say oh wait I’m not sure of who I am exactly, let me check my National ID card and get back to you my distracted gaze left my right foot to the mercy of another dastardly puddle.

Dammit.
After a very stern NO OKAI at the freaky deaky twins (who were obviously hired by the puddle. yeah I’m onto you, puddle.), I kept walking.
Now, I don’t mind rain, I love it in fact. But puddles are a pain when they attack ankle-length jeans and casual flats in mid-walk.
The soggyness, the water-in-shoes-ness and the consequent chaka-chaka noise- not a nice combo.

Foolish enough to think the puddles had left me alone at last, I let my guard down and dug into my bag for my phone while simultaneously trying not to look suspicious around a checkpoint.
Then BAM! a soldierdude put his stupid boot in a puddle next to me unawares, and the puddle used this as an excuse to leap out at my shoes and clothes.

THANKS MONKEYBOY, I said, enraged. Quietly. As he walked away.
And I chaka-chaka-ed back home, where an irritating man asked why my shoes were making ‘hilarious noises.’

Speaking of which, Anarkali is a political candidate now itseems?
lolwut.

Comments
  1. Gonzo says:

    OMG! PUDDLES are out to take over the world now.. not cats like I thought earlier! GASP!And dude… you should listen to Anarkali's speeches. Jiji would be SO jealous.

  2. Chavie says:

    I absofuckinglutely hate puddles, especially those bastards that position themselves between a busy road and the pavement! :/yeah, Anarkali want's to be your 'akki'… 😉 lol

  3. She Who Eats Cookies says:

    I'm coming to SL & forcefeeding you your medication. but EHHEHEHEEHEHEHEEHE @ the jiji face. Nice touch xD& eeeyah @ the Anarkali bit. WUT.

  4. Blissfully Ignorant* says:

    haha. nice post.

  5. Jack Point says:

    Nice writing.

  6. Middle Child says:

    omg !! 😀 funneh !!!

  7. Azrael says:

    Them puddles are evil, I tell ya…

  8. greene says:

    *on one knee with a rubber duck* will you do it with me in a puddle ?

  9. Scrumpulicious says:

    I have the most awesome wellies for puddles! 😛

  10. Purple Jungi says:

    I love you babe

  11. TSC says:

    LOL I looooovvee this post =) =] thks for making my day !! and, yeah, Anar would just "DIIIEE" for us it seems =)

  12. Anonymouse says:

    The face over there is EXACTLY what I imagine you to look like, Shifani. :DPuddles are evil.TOOK YA LONG ENUFF TO NOTICE, FOO'.:P

Leave a Reply

