It’s not nice no?

Posted: October 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

So are you going to the wedding?
Not really, I hardly know her.
But she invited us no?
Out of politeness no? She won’t even notice I’m not there.
But maybe we should go men. Everyone is going. She sent an invite also.
She sent invites out to a thousand people. We won’t only not-know her there, we’ll not-know anyone!
But at least there’ll be food no? Won’t be that intolerable?
So, you want to go to this wedding that’s one hour away, where an acquaintance of yours is going to be sitting on a throne and hardly even notice you among the throng of frilly frocked kids squashed between excited aunties and bored looking men, and where you’ll have to eat – surprise surprise! – biriyani and pineapple and wattalapam, at a table where you know no one, except for the handful of acquaintances who have also come in the name of politeness.
Yes. Don’t say it all condescending like that ah.
Why?
Because it’s rude.
Or just true. And why, pray tell, can we not go?
It’s not nice no?
And going under the false pretense that you genuinely care whilst spewing out plastic pleasantries because everyone else is doing it, is?
It’s better than rejecting her invite!
You honestly believe someone you don’t even talk to and vice versa unless necessary, is going to be heart broken over your absence at her gala hotel-size wedding? Don’t flatter yourself.
Still.. it’s not nice.
What’s not nice? What is nice about going, really?
It’s… obliging! Duh.
And what have you accomplished from ‘obliging’ to this invite?
I feel like I’m being nice by accepting her invitation.
Do you think she genuinely cares about if or if not an acquaintance of her’s comes?
Even if she doesn’t, it’s amicable to say yes to a request. It’s social etiquette.
Why are you saying yes to her request but shouted NO K BYE at me when I asked you to come with me to the library? Discrimination! I’m outraged!
It was raining! And I had better things to do!
So you have nothing better to do today than take a bus in the rainy weather to a place one hour away to see people you don’t know and eat food you don’t like?
I do.. but I can’t just not go when invited, it’s-
Not nice?
Yeah.
So you don’t want to go at all, really. And you don’t really care about her wedding or the food or the people. You’re just going in the name of social etiquette.
Exactly..
Well. That’s not very nice at all is it?

Comments
  1. Chavie says:

    hmmm… O.o

  2. Angel says:

    I'd go for the sake of the biriyani, pineapple and watalappan.I guess I'm not a very nice person

  3. Sach says:

    Perhaps, with time, you'll realize that social etiquette is in fact important, and being nice is, well, nice after all.

  4. Jack Point says:

    Wedding are meant for family and friends. Not for colleagues or passing acquaintances.I wish people would learn this rather than inconveniencing people and incurring unnecessary expense inviting the whole office and all people they've ever me in their lives.

  5. Gadgetgirl says:

    I THINK I know the person ur talking about ;DI couldnt turn up for the wedding too.

  6. santhoshi says:

    thats part of the srilankanism know?

  7. greene says:

    how creepy am i on a scale of 1 to 10

  8. Serendib_Isle says:

    “I'd go for the sake of the biriyani, pineapple and watalappan.I guess I'm not a very nice person”Ditto. Ditto.

  9. Makuluwo says:

    @greene- Do you EVER make comments related to the actual post? 😛 Hardly creepy at all compared to the real creeps I've known.

Leave a Reply

