Hello, my name is Makuluwo and I am a Computer Addict.

Posted: August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

“Hai Makuluwo! Welcome to Computer Addicts Anonymous.”

😛

I don’t think I’m addicted to an extent that all I do is sit at the computer, but what is an addiction? n. an uncontrollable compulsion to repeat a behavior regardless of its negative consequences.

Switch on computer. Check email. Facebook. WordPress. Refresh, check. Google, research, get side tracked by shiny advert. Eventually type article on Word. Come back in a coupla hours, reread article. Refresh internet, check.
I think it’s safe to say that if I’m spending the day at home, 40 to 50% of it is at the computer.

When I’m out of town holidaying at a place that has no internet, I find on the first day that I have my computer on my mind. Oh computer, your slim smooth monitor screen, your lush black compact CPU… ok maybe not thinking of it like that, but I’m all, damn, that article, this folder, those notifications, that blog post.

And it’s pathetic to admit to it, as is the case for all addicts. And as the days go by while I’m on vacation, after the first day of Withdrawal, relief comes. Ahhh not to feel dependent on the machine anymore. The rehab’s working.

Of course that’s your average computer addiction.

I’ve seen computer addicts. Yeah you know who you are. Updating a status, sitting at Facebook and refreshing the page every minute for an hour. Tweeting about the stain on your table, then five minutes later tweeting about wiping the stain off your table with a ‘ha ha lolz.’ Sitting for hours with a glib look on your face, at your email, or your Word work, or your World of Warcraft – responding to all external attempts at communication – with a grunt or an annoyed wave of the hand. Feeling restless when you don’t have your computer, feeling great relief when you finally do.  

Computer Addiction is not cited as a medical condition or a ‘problem’ per se, so nobody with credible authority can really just say, hey man that’s totally unhealthy, get a life. So addicts are allowed to be addicts with no reprimanding except for maybe someone socially going, hey man that’s totally unhealthy, get a life. Personally, I think people need to look into it as a serious thang.

I know a 6 year old who sits with his computer already, with a vacant stare, mouth half open, playing Sonic the Hedgehog. Thing is, there’s nothing solid you can pin on computer addiction – like the creepy pale faced almost dead look that heroin addicts sport – but when you see a kid sitting for hours at a computer as opposed to running and jumping outside, it just feels unhealthy. I’ve seen gamers, oh boy, so addicted to the computer game, that interfering or taking away the game causes such a ruckus- well let’s just say it’s pretty equivalent to the violent desperate reaction you get from a crackhead who’s not being given his daily fix. And then there’s adults sitting for hours at their PCs in a zombie trance, that feels to me like a sort of sloth lack of life, a blarghyness if you will.

But is that just a traditional culturally relevant thought? The game is after all interactive, it’s a strategy game, it’s fun, it engages the user’s mind; the program is after all relevant to the person earning his money, or to relaxing his mind, or to reaching out to his social circle for entertainment. What do you think? Is computer addiction an awful stunting affliction that’s going unnoticed or is that just a traditionalist exaggeration?

Anyway, for what it’s worth, here are medical symptoms of addiction, applies for anything really.
Get yourself checked.

1. Tolerance – the need to engage in the addictive behavior more and more for the desired effect.

2. Withdrawal – unpleasant effects caused when the person attempts to not take the substance or engage in the activity, which are often the opposite of the effects of the addictive behavior.

3. Difficulty cutting down – or controlling the addictive behavior; desperation for the fix.

4. Addiction becomes central – to other social, occupational or recreational activities; they focus and revolve around the addiction and important social and occupational roles being jeopardized.

5. Preoccupation with addiction – as the person alotts and requires a long period of time for planning, engaging in, and recovering from the addictive behavior.

6. Denial – when person constantly asserts ‘I am not addicted’, despite show of all symptoms; acceptance of the problem is the biggest hurdle for an addict.  

7. Offering to do evil things – in return for the fix.

Ok maybe I made that last one up.. but wouldn’t that be awesomely hilarious.
‘Hey mike.. *shifty eyes*’
‘Hey Jo.. you want it?’
‘I need it, bro.. what I gotta do? I’m broke. *fidgety fidget*’
‘You gotta do me a job, man. A job. It aint pretty.’
‘Anything, bro, anything.. I just need-‘
‘Yeahyeah I know, just busta cap in Ramone’s head and bring me his stash.’
‘Oh wow mike man that’s kinda.. I don’t do-‘
‘You want your stash or not? You can have half Ramone’s share.’
‘I’ll do it, mike, I’ll do it.’
And with a sniff, Jo, an addict, trudges towards Ramone’s home for his stash. Of original Counterstrike PC DVDs and his totally awesome new 6Gv2 keyboard.. he’d have to kill a man. But a man gotta do what a man gotta do.
*cue Disturbed’s Down With The Sickness*

LOLOLOL k I’ll stop now. :’)

Comments
  1. Whacko says:

    i think computer or net addiction is a serious problem. I’ve heard of cases reported in china and other parts of the world. i think its beginning to be recognized as more of a problem now. We’re probably cool with it like how our father’s generation was cool with smoking, the negative effects aren’t real to us yet. Kids should be strongly monitored i feel

  2. jeezuz says:

    an ode to sabreen. hahahahahaha

  3. Jack Point says:

    Lol, I get that rather sinking feeling when reading this post. Takes one, to know one, eh?

  4. Me-shak says:

    I guess “Too much of anything is not good”, but wth! we all love, twittah! might as well die with it 😛

    Cheers!

  5. chathuraw says:

    *whistles nonchalantly pretending this post does not relate to me at all* 😀

  6. i like computer games that are first person shooting and strategy games.

Leave a Reply

