Dwindle

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

I hate the dwindle

Post Holiday

Post Getaway

The post awesome weekend Day

I wake up inside a room

That’s suddenly unappealing

The red walls look maroon

The cat looks fat and mean

Sun that lit up white curtains

Now taints them yellow

Birds whose tunes I loved

Now need to shut the fuck up

I don’t want it to start

But a tuk tuk’s engine whirrs outside

Obnoxious like a loud aunty at a wedding

A rude awakening

The bedsheets fold over messy

And wind around me

Tucking me safe away 

From the awfully ordinary day

Like a hangover on the inside

Unpleasant

The maid says the phone’s ringing

So shut the door so I won’t hear, woman

And I crawl back into the covers

Climb into the far kinder arms

Of a dream.

 

pic by sugarock99

Comments
  1. Chavie says:

    awwww! you miss us already? 😉

  2. Seesaw says:

    I loved this. You write poems so rarely don’t you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

