Why I Pick Gold FM Over TNL: The Degeneration Of Music

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

First of all, I’m sorry! For abandoning my blog for more than a week. It’s inexcusable. I will hang my head now for 5 seconds of shame.

Okay.

So, I have no loyal inclinations to any radio station actually, so this isn’t some pseudo patriotic hate-rant, don’t worry. It’s more like a critical evaluation of how sucky music has become over the last few decades. Well actually over the last decade, because let’s face it, the nineties was amazing music.

Then come 2001, 2005, 2007 etc. commercialization became another word for mainstream. Then autotune happened which just made bad music even more obnoxious. Now I’m not going to be hipster kitty and claim to have a superior taste in music that nobody understands, but I’m just going to state the obvious with a simple example.

A mainstream love song, 1960s:

Yesterday
Love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

A mainstream love song, 1990s:

There she goes again
She calls my name
She pulls my train
No one else could heal my pain
And I just can’t contain
This feeling that remains

A mainstream love song, 2001:

Sometimes I love ya
Sometimes you make me blue
Sometimes I feel good
At times I feel used
Loving you darling
Makes me so confused
I keep on fallin’ in and out of love with you

A mainstream love song, 2011:

Her ass. Her ass. Her ass.
I’m looking at her ass.

Okay maybe those last ones aren’t even lyrics of an actual song as far as I’m sure of, but they probably are or might as well be, because that’s pretty much the gist of what you hear on the radio today. Worst part is if a girl’s singing it, it just goes like:

My ass. My ass. My ass.
I know you’re looking at my ass.
Woot.

And then they just sing about doing inappropriate things with people they just met which is just really disturbing but also makes sense when you think about how popular Chlamydia and AIDS have become as of late.

Why? Just, why?
I don’t understand it. I flail in despair at the supermarket when the intercom plays Enrique Iglesias singing his censored version of how he’s going to screw somebody he met at a club. The supermarket attendants are frightened of flailing customers. You’re causing mental agony to supermarket attendants, Enrique Iglesias, stop it.

So Gold FM plays the older stuff. And TNL plays the obnoxious new ones. So that’s what those two have to do with this post.

I’ve also noticed general degeneration in the individual style of some contemporary musicians who I used to like, before said degeneration. Here’s a few examples that come to mind, I’ve inserted links if you wanna see the transition for yourself.

There was Avril Lavigne, whose first single <songlink> to the mainstream fan was really nice and simple and cute in that unpretentious punk rocker girl kind of way. She went around telling people not to fit in and to be yourself and all that reassuring stuff preteens (and adults also secretly) love to hear. Then BAM her music became about stealing people’s boyfriends and wearing butt shorts for the boys and being a self righteous skank in general <songlink>. I am disappoint, Avril Lavigne.

Remember when Maroon5 came out with This Love <songlink>? Good times. Nice and edgy and something different to listen to, especially his voice. Then they had a makeover and made a promiscuous video with forgettable catchy lyrics and tune, but hey at least there were totally irrelevant-to-song hot air hostesses in it <songlink>.

Nelly Furtado. I’m like a biiiiird I only fly awaaaay! <songlink> Okay I’ll stop now. But srsly, those were good days. Even Turn Off The Lights <songlink> was so much fun. Then she got really hot all of a sudden, yay for that but her music became bubblegumey autotuney catchybeatey blah <songlink>.

Linkin Park was in this list initially but the little fangirl in me can’t level them with these noobs, their music just got less edgier and they’re still kind of awesome.

You know what all these guys have in common? They all had their own hard to label style and some level of depth in lyrical intellect. And when they gave most or all of it up for a ‘new look’ (albeit, when their album sales were suffering a teeny bit), surprise surprise, their albums started selling to the masses like hotcakes. The ‘new look’ basically consists of a few notches taken off the intelligence of their songs, more make up / more abs / more hair spray, catchy beats and just a general dose of either easytoforget or sticksinyourbrainlikealeechcuzthebeatiscatchyandannoying. Also maybe this is just me, but they just became a little faceless, turned from an artist you could actually remember for the personality they portrayed through their work to just another pretty face on a billboard singing another familiar processed tune.

Finally there’s the Justin Beibers and Rebecca Blacks of our time, the child stars with catchy annoying depthless songs that everybody loves to hate, and some even secretly love to listen to when they’re alone in the car (yeah you know who you are! I see right through you, hypocrite!). I won’t hate them, they’re kids, they’re just trying to make it in the industry, Beiber can actually dance and Rebecca Black seems like a sweet girl personality wise. It’s the industry we gotta hate. ‘Mainstream’ has become a joke. The Beatles were mainstream. Ace of Base was mainstream. Hell, Britney Spears was mainstream. And come on, they were all totally awesome during their reign. Okay maybe not so much of Britney Spears but I know every one of you secretly knows all the words to Baby One More Time, don’t deny it.

My point is, bad music makes me sad. And bad music that’s actually successful and gets the most airtime and money paid for it to play makes me even sadder. And more importantly, who are these masses who download all that crappy music and make them number one in the first place? Who are all these people whose playlists are full of Akon singing about sexually harassing some poor girl who just wants to dance and mind her own business or of Beiber singing about serious relationships before even hitting puberty or of Nicki Minaj singing something in autotune that I can’t concentrate on cuz I just want to push her down a flight of stairs?

And why are they the majority?

Comments
  1. PseudoRandom says:

    Commercial airwaves are driven by charts, which are driven by sales, which are mostly thanks to the 11-15 age group (because most of the others don’t pay for music). Most record companies will only produce music that’s profitable, so the market will be saturated with auto-tuned bubblegum pop because that’s what most kids listen to before they discover other genres of music. That’s what I think anyway.

    There is ‘credible’ music around, but I guess if it became more popular, it’d lose its charm.

    • Gehan says:

      i don’t get it: who are these 11-15 year olds that are buying SO much music that it’s driving the music industry charts? and for pete’s sake, where are they getting that much money?? lol

      • Chavie says:

        + 1000000

        We should go back to the days when kids were given juuust about enough money for lunch! 😦

      • PseudoRandom says:

        Haha you need to come here to see how much money kids that age spend. And since they don’t have any of the important expenses that we have (rent, bills etc.), all their money goes on music, games and clothes (and McDonald’s :P)

  2. Booyakasha says:

    If you’re all about great song writing, lyrics with depth, and ideas not intended to make every 4 out of 5 people go “ahhh”…check out contemporary bands like Nevermore, Dream Theater, Mr. Big etc.

  3. St. Fallen says:

    “Kill the record industry, save the music.” deadbees.com

    try browsing around for free music that’s becoming more available, sites like freemusicarchive.org can be a goldmine, you just have to find what’s to your taste (:

  4. Sach says:

    They still have TNL?
    :O

  5. Chavie says:

    Check out thesixtyone… so much win! πŸ™‚

  6. Jack Point says:

    I listen to Yes FM – but not for the music, because of the DJ’s. I only listen to the radio while driving and the chatter on the radio is amusing. Shaq & Shay on the morning show and Dana Dane in the evenings. I ignore most of the music.

    I agree with your assessment of the music scene,
    started typing out a response and it got so long, I turned into a post….:)

    http://jestforkicks.blogspot.com/2011/04/death-of-popular-music.html

    • dee says:

      Sorry JP but Yes is like blah blah blah… and these days they just wont stop talking about cricket. I find Efm’s Marc and someone’s show quite fun πŸ˜€ they were actually giving updates on the Japan situation on the same day of the world cup but Yes fm was like just going on and on…ugh… and not to forget sinhala speaking stations like Hiru with Ara and pasbara, now THAT’s entertainment.. πŸ™‚

      • Ola says:

        Ugh, hate these cricket hater chix.

        • dee says:

          aio don’t hate me Ola πŸ˜‰ I like cricket quite a bit but not enough to hear it on everyyy morning show. πŸ˜€

          T – Jay is cool too. Bit pessimistic sometimes and fed-uppish of stuff happening in Sri Lanka, but still good!

    • T says:

      Ugh YES is the pits. Shaq REALLY likes the sound of his own voice and sometime they just talk and talk and TALK, and i’m like I just wanna hear some music DAMNIT!. The morning show on Light FM has (or used to, i don’t wake up early anymore) a really good host who read the papers and made interesting commentary. I think his name is Jay. He’s about the only intelligent host I’ve heard since back when Tracy used to host the TNL show.
      And btw, what’s with all the western names?

      As for music well.. gah.

      • Jack Point says:

        But its the chatter that I like, not the music….:)

        On the morning show Shay is really witty and Shaq makes a good foil for this and I love the phone-ins by the children – they say the most absurd things. The brain teasers and the quizzes are also interesting.

        In the evenings Dana is interesting, not as funny as the morning show but nice in its own way.

        If I was looking for music (ie at times other than when these two show are on) I would probably listen to TNL light or Gold or perhaps E Fm late at night.

        • T says:

          I suppose it depends on what you look for in a radio show. I expect music. If I wanted to hear people talk, I’d watch The View πŸ™‚

  7. Gehan says:

    i wrote a similar post a little while back too, so i agree with what u say. i feel that this last decade is the generation that discovered the gold mine that is dance music, because lets be honest, music in clubs could be anything as long as theres a good beat. so, pop music is geared towards that genre, music that can easily be sampled and turned into a dancefloor hit.

    it’s just a sign of the times. rock is being fazed out, unless it’s some brit rock band that comes across as “quirky yet fun and down-to-earth”. i still believe there is some great music out there, it’s just harder to find these days.

  8. ABCDme says:

    Move with the times, dinosauress! πŸ˜› Ahh don’t hate on me, what do I know about music anyway? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

