Back Home

Posted: October 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

After much silent plotting and planning I finally sneaked my way back into Sri Lanka a few days ago, like a sneaky ninja. SURPRISE! The reactions were priceless. My favourite one was by the Flailer:

“WHAT DA F*** ARE YOU DOING HERE?! WHAT DA F***? I KNEW YOU’D PULL SOMETHING LIKE THIS! I KNEW IT! YOU LITTLE B****!”

I actually wasn’t planning to come back so early initially, but there’s some 10-day long Hindu festival going on so I thought why not drop by and shock everyone for the lols!

I like squeezing in all this awesomeness into just ten days as opposed to spreading it out over weeks, like I’ll have time to do in December and April. The fun is less diluted. And why didn’t anyone tell me just how *awesome* this living-abroad-and-coming-back thing was going to be?

Everything is just… better. The food tastes better. The bed feels better. People’s company feels better. And even the stupidest things, like bus rides, feel dramatically awesome. And that feeling of being half here, and half there, is really nice. There are things I missed about home here, like having my mum around to hug and whine about life, and friends to go to the park to, and the familiarity of this fifty year old house. And there are things I miss about Delhi, like taking the metro, and the high quality high affordability bazaars and coffee shops, and the rooftop I could lie on and watch a dozen eagles flying in circles in the sky, and grabbing my camera and heading off to some place I’ve never been to. Once this is all over I think I’ll miss this.. transitionyness.

People in Delhi are beautiful and advanced and all that, but man, did I miss my Sri Lankan people! I had no idea I had such nationalist sentiments in me, but god I missed them. I guess the difference is like… Colombo feels like a neighborhood, compared to the largeness of Delhi. The whole bus ride to Bamba and back feels like I’m inside my own home, while home in Delhi stops at the periphery around college and my apartment. And the people are just, I guess as stupid as it sounds, more smile-ey. They’re more chilled out, less stressed, in no hurry; Delhi is a rush rush rush, everyone is sweating and swerving through traffic to get there first. Is it the island thing that keeps us so relaxed?

Anyway absence really does make the heart grow fonder, when you get back. Nothing like a good three months away to make you fall madly in love with the place you’re from. I have to say the best part without a doubt is the reunion with friends and family – people love you most when you’re either dead or living abroad!

Comments
  1. Chavie says:

    “people love you most when you’re either dead or living abroad!” – hahaha 😀

    Welcome back. Can’t wait to see you, crazy hamster! 🙂

  2. deeisat says:

    haha like the ending 🙂 have fun!

  3. Jack Point says:

    Ha ha good one. Enjoy the holiday.

    🙂

  4. nabz says:

    oyyyyyyyyyy miss youuuuuuuuuuu

Leave a Reply

