Leaving The Online Shebang

Posted: November 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am a social butterfly. Online.

In real life I surround myself with people too, and I look like an extrovert, but secretly I’m an introvert. Yes I am a secret ninja introvert. And our kind, I think, has benefited most from social networking. Facebook and Twitter and thoseotheronesthatpaleincomparison are alternate avenues of socializing, which do not require dressing up and putting yourself out there especially at the risk of having to rub shoulders with people you don’t even like (I mean, can I have a Block and Delete option in real life please?).

What with unlimited WiFi (both back home and here), I used to spend so much time online. I’d log onto Facebook, Twitter and Gmail, by default, and open a Google tab on the side to browse other random things, such as Bradley Cooper’s face and ridiculously cool words like ‘schism.’ Twitter, to me still felt pointless, basically for a little chatting and saying things that you’re almost completely sure nobody gives a rat’s ass about, but I thought I’d join after leaving to Indyaar in a bid to spy on my homies; Facebook, though, I love. There is something so addictive about the illusion of walking into a place constantly inhabited by all your friends. Every status and picture I put up was for this ardent audience of friends, wallposts with the people I know were always a fun chat, and not to mention the albums and notes made of some of my best creative output. It is the haven of the narcissists, and the idle lazybutts – and if you’re a narcissistic idle lazybutt, oh you’ve got it bad. Farmville, however, I never understood. Why would you want a virtual farm on the internet? Why would you want to plant virtual carrots? Why would anyone want to do anything with planting carrots online or off?

Anyway, all in all, idle times would have me switching on my beloved laptop (who is my best friend now, in an apartment where everyone is constantly chattering in Hindi), and somehow, end up spending hours on it. Doing not much else than ‘networking’ (stalking the updates on my newsfeed) and Googling Bradley Cooper’s face. Okay maybe the latter is an exaggeration, but seriously just look at that face. Needless to say, productivity was not my strongest suit.

Some time around last week, I deactivated my accounts, just to see if it would make much of a difference on how I spend my day. Especially since my semester exams are coming up. I got a barrage of emails and sms’s asking me if I was alright (by barrage I mean four). I am alright, people, disappearing from Facebook and Twitter does not mean I died. Anyway, good god, it really, really made a difference. Now when I’m bored and have nothing in particular on my agenda, all that’s on my laptop are movies and Gmail. I’m never in the mood to watch a movie in the middle of the day, so I find myself taking a walk around the block with my earphones on, reading a good book, and even studying. I’m almost all done with revision for my exams, and am currently simultaneously reading Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Siri Gunasinghe’s Hevanälla and Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Namesake.

I feel much better about myself now when I go to sleep at night. Not to diss those of you who treat ordinary social networking as a hobby or anything. But with all its epic advantages, I feel like there’s still something really fluffy-nothing about it.. like the accomplishmentfail at the end of walking for five blocks on the embossed edge of a pavement, which is still all fun (this is a bad metaphor because as far as I know I’m probably the only one who enjoys doing this). To zone out a la stuff that doesn’t require thinking, instead of going online I watch something, and if you ask me, some pretty awesome literature comes in the form of some movies and series. Some of the nice ones I’ve watched of late are Catch Me If You Can, Devdas, Vanity Fair, Frida, and the series Pan Am.

I’ll probably return for a dose of incessant and fruitless networking during the vacation. For I do miss the *like*s and the *poke*s and the *RT*s (ok maybe not so much the pokes, I just got pokes from creepy muslim boys who weren’t even on my list) not to mention everyone on Facebook and Twitter; in a way it was my only portal to the world back home. If you guys are reading this, HI. If I was there now my status would be, I’ll be back home in two weeks! Nangila mallila sellankaranna lasthivenna!

Comments
  1. Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  2. Anne says:

    I think I kinda agree with you on that..Social media is all good in being updated about latest happenning be it about your friends or otherwise. But it certainly does have it’s own cons too..I can so relate to what you are saying as i’m going through a similar phase. Although i haven’t deactivated my accounts as as such, i do not engage in them as much as i used..and that’s when i have really found time to read some good books or watch some nice movies and tv series that can actually teach life lessons.

Leave a Reply

