Into Uncharted Territory

Posted: January 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

Woke up at 3 in the morning today with an uncontrollable urge to eat french toast. Everyone was asleep. But that didn’t stop me!

Now I am not exactly what one might call a, ahem, kitchen-oriented individual. The only things I have ever made in my life: coffee, a butter cake, tuna sandwiches, all of which I usually made in the hall while watching TV or in the pantry, obviously far from real hardcore-kitchen-cooking.
If you’ve read that old narcissistic post of mine, you’d know of my spoilt brat background: so usually, food was ordered, and it would just magically appear on the dining table an hour later.

Also, I’m pretty lazy and sort of, uh, accident-prone, so mum prefers my oblivious aversion from cooking as well.

So there I was, 3AM, barefoot in the kitchen, holding an egg, not quite sure what to do with it.
I knew french toast had something to do with bread and eggs and frying, so I was thinking, let’s just wing it and see what happens.

Couldn’t find the cooking oil, and didn’t want to use it since I have a secret fear of frying oil flying into the air and hitting me in the face. So put a stick of butter into the pan as a substitute. Dipped bread into some egg and threw it into the pan, and stood there giggling and going ‘oooh cool!’ at all the sizzling and butter-bubbles.

Finally, two slices of french toast stood before me, and I hadn’t got burnt anywhere nor had I blown up the kitchen.

Success!

They were pretty tasty too, not as good as the ones Dad makes, but still. Now you’re probably secretly sniggering at me but this is pretty big ok! I’m usually such a kitchen-noob, that when I told mum later she let out a disbelieving giggle and walked off mumbling about how funny it is when I make up imaginary stories. 😐

I had so much fun that I might actually venture in there once again, to make more french toast, or… or pastries! ehheHEHehee.

Oh, and as requested by Whacko and Aufidius, here’s some of my old art work. Can’t put up my current ones cuz I don’t have a cam to take pics of em. 😦
Forgive the sucky quality, because my scanner is a kabal piece of crap, and the camera shots don’t capture the art in detail!
Weeping mother nature
Love
Grim Reaper
Lewis
Solitary
Once upon a time
Ignorance
India

And gawd, I just love this song.

Comments
  1. Sabby says:

    oooooooooooh fancy artwork. I laike. You are good. And oh oh oh, I know your name now *does the I-know-your-name dance*The whole kitchen thing. Well. Ermm. Noob. =P

  2. TheWhacksteR says:

    damn, site’s blocked. will have to view it when my home connection is up.. until then i think we’ll invite ourselves over for dinner. although we’ll skip the toast and opt for pasta? 😀

  3. Sabby says:

    Oh and Alicia Keys rocks! =DAnd the Grim Reaper one’s the best, personally.Why can’t I put all my thoughts into a single comment?! =S

  4. Dee says:

    I like love and india 😀

  5. The Unsilent says:

    Wow nice.. I like the grim reaper..and about your kitchen adventures, lets not try something too fancy like pastries.. take it slow, u dont want to hurt anyone do u? :PAnd i wouldn’t mind joining Whackster for dinner at your place if its pasta

  6. FINroD says:

    hon.. heres a hint for u.. next time u back french toast.. the dipping mixture should consist of not only egg but milk as well.. =D

  7. Azrael says:

    Lovely artwork. That’s a new take on the Grim Reaper 🙂

  8. Makuluwo says:

    Thanks for the kudos on the artwork, guys. 🙂 And shaa yall seem to be ever so eager to come and sample my mastah cooking. Kay everyone over to my place for dinner! You can bring the apron and the packet of instant pasta, Whacko. 😛 (The Unsilent gets laxatives in his meal for that discouraging remark!) ;D And Finrod, LOL I had NO idea about the milk, man. No wonder the slices looked a bit funny! XD

  9. hijinx says:

    French toast? That sounds like my attempts.. I want some now =/And I like Solitary and Grim Reaper 😀 Do I get pasta too?

  10. The Unsilent says:

    shite!! hehe ok ok im sorry i’ll take it back

  11. Lady divine says:

    you did it! must try your style of making french toast..:) I hardly cook myself!and great artwork!!

  12. Makuluwo says:

    Thank you. 🙂 Yes yes you get some instant-pasta too, hijinx. 😛 lol The Unsilent, alright I’ll take the laxatives out of the meal… maybe.. 😉

  13. Paparé Boy says:

    Awesome artwork, dude!

Leave a comment